Restriction of Hazardous Substances, or simply RoHS, is another name for Directive 2002/95/EC. It was designed specifically to limit the use of several dangerous compounds that are present in the majority of electrical and electronic equipment. It is directly descended from the European Union.


On July 1, 2006, the directives pertaining to the restriction of hazardous substances went into effect. Each member state was required to implement and make the directives into legislation. RoHS aids in limiting the use of specific hazardous materials in electrical and electronic devices. This project attempts to reduce the usage of toxic substances as well as the negative effects that electronics have on the environment and human health.

RoHS Certification Process

The certification process for RoHS involves the following steps.

1. Testing: To ascertain the values of the 10 prohibited RoHS chemicals, on-site, XRF, and/or lab phthalate solvent extraction testing is carried out.

2. Process audit: Perform an on-site review of all relevant manufacturing procedures used to ensure RoHS compliance.

3. Review of the supporting documentation: Examine the Technical File, Bill of Materials, assembly drawings, materials declarations, test results, and conformance/compliance certificates from all vendors.

The following must be in the technical file:

Information on the general product description and design structure
Risk evaluation for components, parts, and subassemblies
Information on materials, components, and subassemblies that conform

Manufacturing records and documentation
Harmonised standards, requirements, and conformity assessment techniques

4. Certification Statement: After a successful audit, a RoHS Certificate of Compliance (also known as a Certificate of Conformity or Declaration of Conformity) is issued.



Feel Free To Write

Other Services

Whatsapp call now mail